The Department has charge of most matters relating to the promotion or preservation of the health, social security and social welfare of the people of Canada over which the Federal Parliament has jurisdiction. It administers the Acts listed in Sect. 4, p. 151, and is also responsible for: the administration of the National Health Grants Program under which grants are made available to the provinces for the development and extension of health services; the federal aspects of emergency health and welfare services: health and safety in the peaceful uses of atomic energy and other sources of radiation affecting the population; the provision of health, medical and hospital services to Indians and Eskimos and to other elements of the population in the Yukon and Northwest Territories; the provision of assistance and consultative services to other government Departments and to the provinces upon request on aerospace medicine and safety, blindness control, child and maternal health, chronic illness and aging, environmental health, mental health, dental health, nursing, medical rehabilitation, bacteriology, virology, parasitology and clinical chemistry, zoo-noses, nutrition and health facilities design; the operation of a drug adverse reaction reporting program, a central clearing-house for the Canadian Poiscn Control Centres and a Consumer Division; the inspection and medical care of immigrants and seamen and the supervision of public health facilities on railway, water and other forms of transportation; the enforcement of regulations of the International Joint Commission relating to public health; the promotion and conservation of the health of government employees; advising the Department of Transport on the physical standards neath of government employees; advising the Department of Transport of the physical standards of licensed aviation personnel; the provision of medical services for and in conjunction with the Canadian Coast Guard Service; the collection, publication and distribution, subject to the pro-visions of the Statistics Act, of information relating to public health, improved sanitation and social and industrial conditions affecting the health of Canadians. It co-ordinates and assists international welfare activities in which Canada is engaged and administers a system of grants to the provinces for professional welfare training, welfare research and general welfare services.

**National Library.**—The National Library came formally into existence on Jan. 1, 1953, with the proclamation of the National Library Act (RSC 1952, c. 330). It publishes *Canadiana*, a monthly catalogue of new publications relating to Canada, with an annual cumulation. The Library also publishes other bibliographies. Its Reference Division maintains the *National Union Catalogue*, which embodies the author catalogues of the major libraries in the ten provinces and is thus a key to the book collections of the whole country. The Library's own bookstock now totals about 400,000 volumes. The National Librarian reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

**National Parole Board.**—The establishment of the National Parole Board, which was formed in January 1959, is authorized by the Parole Act (SC 1958, c. 38) by which it is given absolute jurisdiction over all matters of parole. It is composed of a chairman and four members appointed by Order in Council for a ten-year period. The Board reports to Parliament through the Solicitor General of Canada.

**Department of National Revenue.**—From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue Acts were administered by separate departments: after that date they were amalgamated under one Minister as the Department of Customs and Inland Revenue. In 1921 the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924 collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of Customs and Excise. In April 1924 collection of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue.

The Customs and Excise Division of the Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duties as well as of sales and excise taxes. The Taxation Division is responsible for the assessment and collection of income taxes, gift tax, old age security tax, Part I of the Canada Pension Plan, and estate taxes for Canada and all provinces, with certain exceptions, through its 29 district taxation offices and its Taxation Data Centre.

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible to Parliament for the Tax Appeal Board.

Office of the Chief Electoral Officer.—This Office was established in 1920 under the provisions of the Dominion Elections Act, now the Canada Elections Act (RSC 1960, c. 39, and amendments thereto), and is responsible for the conduct of all federal elections as well as the elections of members of the Northwest Territories Council and of the Yukon Territory Council. In addition, it conducts any vote taken under the Canada Temperance Act. The Chief Electoral Officer is responsible directly to Parliament, the Secretary of State acting as spokesman for him in the Cabinet and the House of Commons.

Office of the Comptroller of the Treasury.—The Comptroller of the Treasury is an officer of the Department of Finance appointed by the Governor in Council. Under the authority of the Financial Administration Act, he has the statutory responsibility of ensuring that no payment out of the Consolidated Revenue Fund is made for a purpose not authorized by or in excess of an amount appropriated by Parliament and that all relevant executive regulations are observed. For this purpose, he conducts a pre-audit of all payments except those under the Travel Regulations. He also provides a cheque-issue and accounting service for all departments and is responsible for the preparation of the *Public Accounts* and other financial statements of the government.